Indian Journal of Medical Research

The Indian Journal of Medical Research is a biomedical journal with international circulation. It publishes original communications of biomedical research that advances or illuminates medical science or that educates the journal readers. It is issued monthly, in two volumes per year.

All correspondence regarding submission of manuscripts, reprints, subscription etc., should be addressed to the

The Indian Journal of Medical Research,
Indian Council of Medical Research,
V. Ramalingaswami Bhawan,
Ansari Nagar,
New Delhi-110 029, India
Telephones: 91-11- 26589284/26589897/26589497
Fax : 91-11-26589258
E-mail :  or

For subscription/ missing issue queries may be sent to

Guidelines for contributors to the Journal are published in each issue.


Chairman :  

Dr. Balram Bhargava, Director-General, Indian Council of Medical Research (ICMR) and Secretary, Department of Health Research, Government of India, New Delhi

Members :

Dr S.S.Abdool Karim, Director, CAPRISA, University of KwaZulu-Natal, Durban, South Africa
Dr C. Adithan, Former Professor, Department of Pharmacology, Jawaharlal Institute of Postgraduate Medical Education & Research, Puducherry
Dr M. J. Albert, Professor, Department of Microbiology, Faculty of Medicine, Kuwait University, Safat, Kuwait
Dr M. K. Bhan, Former Secretary, Department of Biotechnology, Government of India, New Delhi
Dr Camil Castelo-Branco, Senior Consultant, Clinical Institute of Gynecology Obstetrics and Neonatology, Faculty of Medicine, University of Barcelona, Barcelona, Spain
Dr B. C. Das, Former Director, Dr. B.R. Ambedkar Centre for Biomedical Research, Delhi University, Delhi
Dr A. P. Dash, Vice-Chancellor, Central University of Tamil Nadu, Thiruvarur

Dr K. Dheda, Professor of Respiratory Medicine, UCT Lung Institute, Department of Medicine, University of Cape Town, Cape Town, South Africa
Dr C. Dye, Director,Strategy,Policy & Information, Coordinator, Sustainable Development Goals, Office of The Director General, World Health Organization, Geneva, Switzerland
Dr J.L. Excler, Senior Consultant, HIV Vaccine Clinical Development, US Military HIV Research Program, Walter Reed Army Institute of Research, Bethesda, MD, USA
Dr N.K. Ganguly, Visiting Professor of Eminence, Translational Health Science and Technology Institute, Faridabad
Dr S.K. Gupta, Deputy Director & Chief, Reproductive Cell Biology Laboratory, National Institute of Immunology, New Delhi
Dr. S. E. Hasnain, Professor  & Head, Institute of Molecular Medicine,  and  Vice Chancellor, Jamia Hamdard; and Invited Professor, Indian Institute of Technology, Delhi, New Delhi
Dr T. Jacob John, 439, Civil Supplies Godown Lane, Kamalakshipuram, Vellore
Dr V.M. Katoch, Former Secretary, DHR & Former Director General, Indian Council of Medical Research, New Delhi
Dr R.C. Mahajan, House No. 276, Sector 6, Panchkula
Dr A. Malhotra, Professor of Medicine, Director of Sleep Medicine, UC San Diego School of Medicine, San Diego, USA|
Dr K.H. Mayer, Medical Research Director, Fenway Community Health, Fenway Institute, Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Dr V. Mohan, President, Madras Diabetes Research Foundation, Chennai
Dr Vimla V. Nadkarni, President, International Association of Schools of Social Work, Tata Institute of Social Sciences, Mumbai
Dr. G.B.Nair, Ag Regional Advisor,  Research Policy & Cooperation Unit, Communicable Diseases Department, World Health Organization, New Delhi
Dr Jagat Narula, Professor of Medicine, Associate Dean for Global Health, Mount Sinai School of Medicine, New York, USA
Dr M. Pai, Director, McGill Global Health Programs, Associate Director, McGill International TB Centre, McGill University, Montreal, Canada
Dr S. Radhakrishna, D-201, High Rise Apartments, Lower Tank Bund Road, Gandhi Nagar, Hyderabad
Dr Prema Ramachandran, Director, Nutrition Foundation of India, New Delhi
Dr B.S. Ramakrishna, Director, Institute of Gastroenterology, SRM Institutes for Medical Sciences, Chennai

Dr S.K. Sharma, Former Professor & Head, Department of Medicine, All India Institute of Medical Sciences, New Delhi
Dr K.K. Talwar, Former Chairperson, Medical Council of India, New Delhi


Editorial Staff


Dr Anju Sharma


Assistant Editors: 

Dr. Jyoti Thulkar, Dr. Gargi Meur

Editorial Assistance:

Smt. Sangita Angra,Smt. Sunita Kamboj,
Shri Man Mohan Singh,Smt. Rachna Sharma

Production Assistance:

Shri Manoj K. Saxena




Note : The Editor or the Publisher assumes no responsibility for the statements and opinion of contributors.


| Back | Home |